Hello. If you’re looking around, it is exactly what it looks like. I decided to start my entire blog over.

I initially created this blog to serve as a sort of time capsule on my time spent in South Korea during graduate school. It was to be a way for me to reflect on how I was and what I was thinking during the course of a very hectic time. Recently, I took it upon myself to actually reread my blog from the beginning, and I’ve come to a few conclusions.

  • First, I cringed at a lot of my old stuff for reasons I’ll explain soon. I take that as a good thing, though. To me, that signifies that I’m changing for the better, or at least a better person than I was at the time.
  • I had started to habitually post stream-of-consciousness blogs by the end of things and while they are definitely a raw reflection of my thoughts at the time, it means I lost focus on thinking my posts through. The Internet really seems to enjoy raw stream-of-consciousness (case and point, my unexpected viral post), but I’ve lost sight of the fact that this was the kind of style I was ultimately trying to avoid.
  • Making posts extremely personal can create closer connections, but it can also be incredibly risky. This was a comment my friend made about the last string of posts and while I said that it was fine at the time, I’ve come to think that I can frame these anecdotes better. I don’t want to shy away from personal stories in this reboot, but I think I can swap out personal details for analysis.
  • I want to focus more on completing projects. I found tons of drafts for posts from years ago that were never published, and this is honestly a reflection of my life in general: I have so many books, knitting projects, and other ideas that were initiated and then go untouched for a long time. I even have branches of this blog that I started at least a year ago, yet have never posted anything to since creating them. I want to be able to finish what I start.

Overall, I think it’s time for a meaningful change. I’ve exported my old posts so they’ll always be with me, but I want to start curating pieces and a blog that I can be proud of every single post. I want to be able to say that I put in tons of thought and effort into every post from here on out (which is not something I could say about my previous few entries).

Most of all, I don’t want to keep current and future readers waiting with shallow promises of quality content. I want to write pieces that will resonate with readers. If you’re still here, I hope you can follow me as I work to achieve this in the future.

Thank you.

